Just another WordPress site

“We must return to the place where football was born” Challenge to co-host the 2030 WC with 4 South American countries

Four South American countries, Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay, have declared their application to co-host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.
Four South American countries have insisted that the World Cup “must return to the place where football was born.” 2030 marks the 100th anniversary of the first World Cup held in Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay.

The ministers of sports and football associations of the four South American countries held a press conference in Argentina on the 7th (local time) and formalized the application for joint hosting of the 2030 World Cup soccer tournament.

The four South American countries are expected to compete with the Spanish-Portuguese alliance, Saudi Arabia and Morocco.

CONMEBOL President Alejandro Dominguez said, “FIFA must hold (the 2030 tournament) here to celebrate the birthplace of (World Cup) football. no,” he stressed.

“We are convinced that FIFA has a duty to honor the memory of those who believed in greatness and who created the first World Cup before us,” he added.

Uruguay has won the World Cup twice, including the first one held at home. Argentina, host country in 1978, was crowned world champion for the third time in Qatar in 2022. Chile also hosted the 1962 World Cup. Paraguay has yet to host a World Cup.

The four countries plan to hold the opening match in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and the final match in Montevideo, Uruguay, once the venue is decided.

Claudio Tapia, president of the Argentine Football Federation (Afa), said, “As world champions, we not only celebrate the 100th anniversary of the inaugural tournament, but also drive forward hosting the tournament, the dream of all South Americans, with our passion for soccer.”

Sebastian Bausa, Minister of Sports of Uruguay, said, “FIFA and the South American Football Federation have grown this much since the first World Cup.

Unlike the first competition, in which 13 countries participated, 48 countries will participate in the 2030 competition, following the 2026 competition in the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

If these countries succeed in hosting, 안전놀이터 it will be the first time in history that four countries jointly host the event.

Argentina’s President Alberto Fernandez also tweeted that he would ask neighboring Bolivia to join him in “this dream”.

Currently, Spain and Portugal have announced bids in Europe. It is known that the two countries are considering having Ukraine, which is at war with Russia, participate in the form of an ‘invited host’.

It is said that Morocco in North Africa, as well as Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Greece, will also challenge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.